SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

I drove the SC430 (actually I drove 6 of them)

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-01, 11:53 AM
SmartTrac
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool

As an automotive journalist, I'm often asked to evaluate new models, sometimes before they hit the showrooms. Well, I've finally got my chance to drive the SC430 during a press gathering and I have to say that it exceeded all of my expectations.

This car is absolutely silent with the top up with no wind noise right up to 100 mph. With the top down, you could carry on a normal conversation, even at 70 mph. There was no wind buffeting in the cockpit, only a smooth flow of well-controlled air.

I drove the SC430 with and without the Run-Flat tire option and noticed a slightly harsher ride with them when hitting expansion joints and rough pavement, but the extra room in the trunk is worth the slight discomfort.

This car attracted attention like few cars that I have driven. In a golf course parking lot, I created a golf cart traffic jam while golfers shouted out questions about the car.
I pulled up to a high school crosswalk as school was letting out and herd the unmistakable sound of a dozen tongues simultaneously hitting the ground. So, I decided, while I was stopped, to put the top up at which time I heard another dozen of the more jaded tongues drop.

I will have a complete review of this car shortly on my website www.familycar.com

Attached Thumbnails I drove the SC430 (actually I drove 6 of them)-leftfront2.jpg  
Old 03-06-01, 01:09 PM
JBrady
Lexus Champion

Received 30 Likes on 24 Posts

Great info SmartTrac, keep the posts comming. Where you privy to the option list? If so, is the air suspension to be an option?

Also, I assume you meant the carl you drove HAD the runflat option and hence stiffer sidewalls with the noisier operation, correct?

How was transient response? Crisp, mushy? Power?
Old 03-06-01, 02:13 PM
SmartTrac
Driver School Candidate