RX - 3rd Gen (2010-2015) Discussion topics related to the 2010 - 2015 RX350 and RX450H models

Lexus RX350 certified pre-owned.

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-15, 05:00 PM
dvnandover
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lexus RX350 certified pre-owned.

I am a newbie to this site so be please gentle with me. I would like to ask for your opinions about Lexus certified pre owned vehicles. I purchased a pre owned 2010 RX350 about 2 years ago (03/29/2013) and the car is under 3 years/100000 mile warranty but already I had to replace all 4 new tires 6 months ago that cost me over $1000. This week I brought it in for an oil change and they told me I will need to replace 4 new break pads and resurface the rotors which will cost $952.72. What condition should the car be in to be qualify as a certified pre owned? Or Does a certified pre owned has to be in good condition over all? Am I being screwed by Lexus?
Old 03-03-15, 05:18 PM
ketleone14
Driver School Candidate

I guess my question is how many miles are on your RX and how many have you put on in the 2 years?

It is 5 years old now so I can see some maintenance being needed but if you put say 5K miles on it and the brakes are gone that makes me wonder what they were at when you bought it.
Old 03-04-15, 03:32 AM
hovbuild
Driver

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I was told this by a dealer once. Took it to a service station and found the brakes were only 1/3 used up. Put another 15000 on it befor brake job.
Old 03-04-15, 07:24 AM
milehighda
Driver School Candidate

Brakes are really something you could do yourself. I never resurfaced rotors, because it just a little more to buy new. Brakes are the one fix I still do myself.

I would suggest taking it to a Toyota dealer or toyota service could do a chain service station also.