RX - 3rd Gen (2010-2015) Discussion topics related to the 2010 - 2015 RX350 and RX450H models

Extended Warranty on a CPO

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-12, 06:09 AM
qbno12
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Extended Warranty on a CPO

Hi,
I am finalizing a deal on 2010 RX 350 which is a CPO. I was told the the certified warranty is good for 3 yrs from the date of purchase or 100,000 total vehicles miles. Dealer insists I buy the extended warranty on the vehicle. I am on a budget here and am wondering if I can buy the extended warranty at a later time (before the certified warranty expires on the vehicle).

If I have to buy the extended warranty at the time of purchase, can I negotiate the price of warranty? RX currently has 54k miles, new tires and as per the dealer the brake pads have been replaced recently. Please suggest.

I am completely new to this car buying experience and would greatly appreciate any help.

Thanks !
Old 10-05-12, 06:56 AM
Gymniac
Lexus Test Driver

Originally Posted by qbno12
Hi,
I am finalizing a deal on 2010 RX 350 which is a CPO. I was told the the certified warranty is good for 3 yrs from the date of purchase or 100,000 total vehicles miles. Dealer insists I buy the extended warranty on the vehicle. I am on a budget here and am wondering if I can buy the extended warranty at a later time (before the certified warranty expires on the vehicle).

If I have to buy the extended warranty at the time of purchase, can I negotiate the price of warranty? RX currently has 54k miles, new tires and as per the dealer the brake pads have been replaced recently. Please suggest.

I am completely new to this car buying experience and would greatly appreciate any help.

Thanks !
What does the extended warranty gives you?

Do you think you'll drive as much as or more than 46K miles in three years from now?

How much are they charging for it?