RX - 2nd Gen (2004-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2004 -2009 RX330, RX350 and RX400H models

Gas Nozzle Latch Popping

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-13, 02:44 PM
celiothrkn
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Gas Nozzle Latch Popping

I drive a 2007 Lexus RX350. According to the manual, it requires premium fuel. The first year I had the car, I fed it premium. After that, I believed I could still make off fine with regular so that's what I've been feeding it for the last 2+ years. I figured the lower cost of gas was a reasonable trade-off for the lower MPG performance.

Today while I was filling up the tank, something unusual happened. Literally 5 seconds after I inserted the gas nozzle, the automatic shutoff latch popped up. Normally this only happens when the tank's full. However I knew that my tank was near empty, and there was no way I could've filled 10+ gallons within seconds. So I tried to reinsert the nozzle. Yet the latch kept popping within 5 seconds each time. I repeated this process for a handful of times until the gas attendant came by.

The attendant explained that the latch kept popping because I was using 87 octane (regular) on a premium tank. He stressed that I would be damaging the engine in the long run, and that the latch popping was symptomatic of such.

Is this true? Should I be concerned? I don't think it makes much of a difference, but I might add that I was at the Costco gas station which dilutes the gas by 10% ethanol.
Old 11-15-13, 03:18 PM
Rainbird

Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts