RX - 2nd Gen (2004-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2004 -2009 RX330, RX350 and RX400H models

2009 RX350 Rear Struts

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-12, 11:11 AM
ahornick
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2009 RX350 Rear Struts

Hello all, I am new to this forum, this is my first time post. I have a 2009 RX350 with 51,000 miles (just 1000 over warranty). The left rear strut developed a bad leak and has begun making the noises associated with the failed strut. I will be changing out both rears and have two questions that I cannot find info for on the web. 1) I noticed the 2 latches on the side covers inside the back area to remove the panel and expose the rear strut tower, are these the only two latches I need to remove to access the upper bolts, or are there hidden screws or things I need to do to remove the panel? 2) Does anyone know the torque specs for the rear strut bolts? I appologize if this question has come up on previous posts.
Old 08-20-12, 02:52 PM
cartman57
Driver

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Welcome, if you comfortable using a strut spring compressor it's fairly easy to do.
Copied from another post:
Rear strut:
strut to upper mounting nuts 29 ft lbs
Strut to suspension support (dampner shaft) nut 36 ft lbs
Strut to axle cardrier nuts/bolts 188 ft lbs.
Old 08-20-12, 03:07 PM
hypervish
Lexus Test Driver

Received 88 Likes on 75 Posts

Welcome to Club Lexus!

If it's literally only 1,000 miles over, I'd go to the dealer and see if they are willing to work with you on the price. Maybe a good will gesture.

51K miles is way too early for a strut to start leaking. How are the roads in AZ?
Old 08-21-12, 07:05 AM
ahornick
Driver School Candidate