RX - 2nd Gen (2004-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2004 -2009 RX330, RX350 and RX400H models

First Car Decisions! Acura TL or RX330?

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-12, 07:58 AM
bgoldman
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb First Car Decisions! Acura TL or RX330?

As much as I would like to consider myself the only teenager that surfs these forums regularly, I know I'm not alone...

Anyways, I'm turning 16 in three months and I am lucky enough to take one of my parent's current cars. (Whichever one I choose, my parents will treat themselves to a new car) My options are honestly really awesome: A 2004 Lexus RX330 (AWD, 77k) and a 2006 Acura TL (Auto, 55k). Don't pull the 'spoiled' card because I am no where near that. I'm a great student, respectful, and more than anything, responsible. I live in a very ritzy part of Florida, where kids my age drive M3s, Benzes, and other crazy expensive cars. I understand this is a Lexus forum, and it would be no different if I posted on the AcuraZine forum, but I was wondering if I could get any unbiased recommendations.

The RX330 is in superb condition and is loaded with basically every option available, including the AWD package and technology package (I live in Florida, where the rain is more of an issue than snow). Granted it is a bit older than the TL, but I feel it will hold it's value much better when I am ready to buy a car on my own.

The TL is in good condition, my mom got rear-ended a few years ago and the passenger-side rear bumper is a little uneven due to a crappy fix from Acura (this is my OCD talking, haha) and there are a few scratches around the car (It's Abyss Blue Pearl and dark colors show everything!) Nevertheless, this TL is loaded with everything inside as well.

The tech in the TL is better, as is it's sportiness, but my dad is straining that his RX as a safer bet for a first car, and I agree. Please, any suggestions would be totally cool!
Old 02-05-12, 08:15 AM
hypervish