RX - 2nd Gen (2004-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2004 -2009 RX330, RX350 and RX400H models

2004 RX 330 - 220k miles - and I'm in love?

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-11, 03:37 PM
VAttorney
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2004 RX 330 - 220k miles - and I'm in love?

Okay, I think I may have screwed up majorly. I've never bothered with upscale or luxury lines.. not into the leather and fine experience, etc. So with that said, I guess I was pretty naive as to the appeal of such vehicles.

I was looking for something practical with good fuel economy that was going to be spacious enough for an extra tall bf and my dogs. I'm a new attorney... so while I have prospects for the future I suppose, the budget is pretty tight now.

I stopped to check out a couple minivans (can't get much more practical) at a used lot and saw a couple in the 70-100k range. Parked next to the Town and Country was this eye catching vehicle.. you guessed it - the subject of this thread.

Her condition is immaculate and I can even afford it. I know Toyotas have incredible longevity and reliability and with the condition this vehicle is in, age and mileage - I know that the vast majority of those miles MUST be highway. Still... 225K? Have I lost my mind? Should I get a 2007 Chrysler Town and Country with only 70k miles instead? My gut suggests that the odds are about equal that either of those vehicles will be solid for another 100k or am I being wishful because I got completely seduced by the Lexus?

I think I was better off not knowing. I can't even put my finger on it! It just felt so good... sitting in the mini-vans was comfortable enough (I've had minivans and SUVs before so nothing about either feeling inherently exotic is at fault) but by comparison..