RX - 2nd Gen (2004-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2004 -2009 RX330, RX350 and RX400H models

'04 RX330 reliability, persuade or stay away?

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-10, 07:03 PM
MooF
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '04 RX330 reliability, persuade or stay away?

Hi RX owners, I'm a newb, and sorry to state a general reliability question here but after some basic searches, I'm debating on the reliability of a 2004 AWD with 90k miles (155k km). We're in need of a car-like SUV and came close to deciding on a Highlander. But for nearly the same money, we can get ourselves into a pre-owned Lexus and enjoy the ride and our trips that much more...

Am I buying trouble? Must I check to ensure timing belt/w.pump and any tranny ECM updates have been done? I can get a hold of the service records.

I'm new to Toyota/Lexus and we're looking for a reliable but nice ride to last us another 100k if possible ??

Cheers, From Toronto, Canada (not Cali, the profile wouldn't let me choose otherwise)
Old 08-22-10, 08:02 PM
Adamjeeps
Lead Lap

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

You can put the VIN into the My Lexus website and see the dealer service history. Buying with this many miles is rolling the dice. You may get many miles of trouble-free service or could need to replace parts. You can use the Toyota dealer and save $$$ on maintenance and service. Personally, I would go for less mileage if planning on keeping the car long-term and possibly get a warranty if the deal was good.
Old 08-22-10, 09:04 PM
action
Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post