RX - 2nd Gen (2004-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2004 -2009 RX330, RX350 and RX400H models

Rx330 Steering wheel vibration at highway speeds

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-06, 11:39 AM
spaniola
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rx330 Steering wheel vibration at highway speeds

Hello everyone.

I have a 2004 Lexus Rx330 AWD and am having steering wheel vibrations at around 65-80mph.

I just installed 4 brand new Bridgestone Duehler Alenza tires and had the balance re-checked by the installer.

My Steering wheel shaked before just as bad and Lexus of Southfield said it was because my tires are worn. Now i have brand new tires and still have the problem.

Does anyone know what this could be?? It is driving me nuts!
Old 06-26-06, 11:50 AM
tfischer

Received 189 Likes on 143 Posts

That should not happen. My '04 has 40,000 miles and new tires, and there is no shaking going on at 95.

I'm no expert, but it sounds like the problem is with the wheels or tires.

And worn tires don't cause shake, unless there is very uneven wear, which is a symptom of other problems.

Maybe you should should get a second opinion and have the balance checked by someone other than the original installer.
Old 06-26-06, 07:57 PM
salimshah

Received 994 Likes on 898 Posts

Stearing wheel vibration specially at certain speed is due to dynamic imbalance of the rotating wheel(s) .. specailly the front one due to direct coupling.

In simple terms the wheel need balancing at speed ...

I would go back to the tire installer to have them dynamically rebalanced.

You can do some of the confirmation work yourself by swapping front with back tires to see if there is a difference. But I think it is not worth the troubles since you paid for this service.

There is an outside chance that the front supension is messed up, The tire installer should be able to tell you once they have your vehicle on the rack ... they should perform that as a courtesey/safety check.