RX - 1st Gen (1999-2003) Discussion topics related to the 1999 -2003 RX300 models

RX300 Air Mode Servo removal made easy

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-12, 04:58 PM
DrDan
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RX300 Air Mode Servo removal made easy

RX 300 1st gen Air Servo removal and re-assembly made easy.

After procrastinating for a few months to avoid to 100+ degrees in TX, I decided to go after my clickety clickety click servo repair. There are several previous posts that I drew from, so I can’t pin point who gave the best advice. However, I tackled the job today. The devil is in the details, not cleaning the servo, but getting it in and out. This is my experience. BTW, I am a Certified Human Factors Professional, who loves to get into these types of adventures and analyze from two perspectives, why they built it that way (the “knobology” of design) and what is the most straightforward way to fix it in spite of the design.
Removing the glove box is easy, 2 10mm bolts and 2 Philips head screws.
Since you will be in there, you might as well have a cabin air filter ready. If the filter is not that bad, a shop vac sucking in the opposite air flow direction will probably extend the life for a while.

The two brass screws up front holding the servo are easy. A stubby Philips will do fine. Note the lower screw squeezes the servo in a slot in the white plastic and the upper screw does not. The third one is the kicker. You can’t see it and the stubby is too short and a regular screwdriver is too long. I had to cobble together a power drill Philips bit with a thumb wheel driver to achieve the best length (see pic). If you don’t do something similar you will be doing a lot of grunting and dropping expletives all over the floor. My friend "Murphy," known for his laws, sits on my shoulder, told me there is a possibility of losing the 3rd screw in the insulation crevices. Stuff a rag around and under the servo, just in case.