RX - 1st Gen (1999-2003) Discussion topics related to the 1999 -2003 RX300 models

Help: Considering 2000 RX300 170k mi

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-17, 02:36 PM
BosJC
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post Help: Considering 2000 RX300 170k mi

Hi All,

Current owner of 2013 IS250 but helping my family select a reliable daily driver for my younger sister to get back and forth to college and work [20-40 miles daily].

Test drove a 2000 RX300 yesterday, in great shape cosmetically but with a few flags I'm concerned about -- I have no experience buying a used car so would appreciate any advice or thoughts:
  1. There was an audible repeating squeak/squeal when he pulled up. Owner said the belt needs replacement. It's the belt that's visible on passenger side when hood is open -- is that the drive belt? This is the photo I took of it: https://ibb.co/ngdsuv -- guess I also need to find out if timing chain has been replaced [last proof was 86k mi]
  2. The ABS indicator light was on. Owner says it's been on 2 years and his mechanic couldn't find anything wrong. Any one experience this issue?
  3. One of the four tires needs replacement, the other three look almost new. Is it okay to replace a single tire?
  4. The radio doesn't work. Owner says it's the amp and claimed it was a $99 part. Again, how much would I expect to pay for this repair [assuming his diagnosis is correct]?
Otherwise the car was cosmetically in great shape, inside and out. It drove comfortably and completely straight, AC was cold, shifted smoothly. I pulled a Carfax and it was Lexus serviced for the first 10 years up to 115k miles, then transferred to current owner who used his own mechanic. Anything else major I should be looking for?
Old 08-07-17, 04:50 PM
hypervish
Lexus Test Driver

Received 88 Likes on 75 Posts

Hey!