ClubLexus - Lexus Forum Discussion

ClubLexus - Lexus Forum Discussion (https://www.clublexus.com/forums/)
-   RX - 1st Gen (1999-2003) (https://www.clublexus.com/forums/rx-1st-gen-1999-2003-182/)
-   -   Advice on Maintenance (https://www.clublexus.com/forums/rx-1st-gen-1999-2003/600824-advice-on-maintenance.html)

A2A 11-01-11 05:44 AM

Advice on Maintenance

Hi Guys,

Newbie here, I’m in the UK and just got the Mrs. a 1999 Toyota Harrier with 80k on the clock and limited service history. Therefore I wish to do a full service although the previous owner changed the oil 3 months ago and the dipstick does show the oil to look light brown/fresh however the transmission dipstick level shows the oil to be sat at least double over the max marker which is a concern to me although the transmission oil looks dark pink/brown and hence I wish to change that oil too.

Therefore can you please advise in particular what transmission fluid I should use as I know it is a vulnerable part on the car and also if I need to purchase a strainer or just a fluid change baring in mind I have no evidence of when the last ATF was changed.
Lastly it the first time I’ve got a vehicle that in not chain driven and again I have no evidence of when the belt was changed hence when should I look into getting that done too, although I’ve stumbled upon some info stating that the consequences of a snapped belt on these engines are not as bad as other engines??

Lastly I have noticed a couple of issues that I would appreciate some assistance on,

1. There seems to be an oil leak under the car toward the rear around the passenger side wheel (right-hand drive model) but I can’t see where from as it looks to be covered with some sort of cover which the edge is covered with black oil?

2. When the door mirror retract button is pressed only the driver’s side mirror folds but not the passenger’s side?

To conclude,
• Should I change the engine oil, if so what is recommended?