RX - 1st Gen (1999-2003) Discussion topics related to the 1999 -2003 RX300 models

Slow oil leak from the bell-housing

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-11, 02:22 AM
shammi5
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Slow oil leak from the bell-housing

Hi everyone, newbie here.

I have a RX300 1999 Model, last few days i noticed a few oil droplets on the floor, nothing big, but after taking a closer look under. it seems to be coming from the bell housing, it seems to be a dark brown\gold color, so naturally i thought it was not gear oil. can someone please tell me what else it could be? maybe motor oil? and is it a costly repair?

Any help would be appreciated. love the car so much and hate to get rid of it. if i can't afford to repair.

Last edited by shammi5; 07-17-11 at 02:28 AM.
Old 07-17-11, 07:22 AM
Lexmex
Super Moderator

Received 161 Likes on 137 Posts

Welcome to the Club.

That sounds more like oil. What kind of smell does it have?

What kind of RX300 do you have, an AWD or FWD.

Any pictures you can add underneath, even if you don't catch where it is dripping many help, as sometimes I may see something odd or out of the ordinary.

Around that are, a main seal issue. If it were that, that would be somewhat of a costly repair as it would involve separating the tranny from the engine (I've got pictures of what that area looks like apart), take a look at this old thread of mine https://www.clublexus.com/forums/rx-...went-bump.html

I'd also like to know what kind of oil, both brand and weight, you are running.

This isn't something to panic about at this point, and there are some options you could take for now that may thwart a future issue (certain additives, slightly thicker oil) if this is the issue, but it depends how far along that issue is.
Old 07-17-11, 07:37 AM
hypervish
Lexus Test Driver

Received 88 Likes on 75 Posts

If it is the rear main seal, I suggest running some Auto-RX through it.