RX - 1st Gen (1999-2003) Discussion topics related to the 1999 -2003 RX300 models

What would a good headlight replacement be for my 1999 RX300?

Old 09-20-11, 08:51 PM
NyCrAzY
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What would a good headlight replacement be for my 1999 RX300?

I love HID headlights (because my dads Murano has it),and whats the price range of them?

But what would a good alternative be? I have the stock headlights but I can't see that far with it while driving at night time. What would a good bulb be?

Thanks.

Also, I'm a noob about cars. What do I exactly need to change headlights? Just the bulbs? Kits? thanks for the input guys.

kind regards.

Last edited by NyCrAzY; 09-20-11 at 10:25 PM.
Old 09-21-11, 09:54 PM
JZS147btr
Driver School Candidate

First off, the halogens you currently have in your RX are probably old. Halogens dim over time so just putting a new set of Halogens will make it brighter.

Secondly, HID "kits" then not to give you good light output due to the reflector in your headlight being optimized for Halogen bulbs, not HID bulbs. HID and Halogen have their "hot spots" located in different places so the design of the reflector and housing must be specific to the type of bulb you're using. When you mismatch the setup, you end up just scattering the light so you don't get a good light pattern. The HID's will look "bright" when you look directly into the headlight but it won't actually put out a good, useable beam for driving purposes because the reflector/housing isn't focusing the light correctly. HID "kits" come with a set of bulbs, ballast and some wiring. They're easy to install but I would NOT recommend them due to their poor performance. They will perform NOTHING like your Dad's Murano, I guarantee it.