RX - 1st Gen (1999-2003) Discussion topics related to the 1999 -2003 RX300 models

Stolen Keys

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-04, 05:21 PM
Regrex
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Unhappy Stolen Keys

My keys were stolen today. What a drag! Fortunately, I have an additional master key for them to re-program it. However, my concern is that the person who stole my keys can still open the car doors, even though he cannot drive off with the car. A lot of damage can be done to the car.

Any recommendations? Thanks in advance for your reply.
Old 12-30-04, 08:02 PM
salimshah

Received 995 Likes on 899 Posts

Be AWARE, that there is a huge difference between loosing a key vs. key being stolen. If it is stolen, please DO NOT park in the viscinity of the area where you think it was stolen. Keep in mind the only major reason to steal a key is to gain access and with the engine enable feature in Lexus keys, there is a potentail of some one driving away your car.

I am certain that a number of keys (new master key) can be programmed to be accepted by the ECU but I am not sure if they can be UN-programmed. I would urge you to go to the dealer to see if they can "un-program" the previous key/s. [This may be a moot point if you can reassure yourself that the key theif can not locate your car.] .... Times like this, you really wish the remote was not that strong.

PS> Check with your insurance if they would cover some of the cost of un-programming the ECU. You can have a brand new ECU installed but the price may run into low tripple digits.

Salim.
Old 12-30-04, 09:39 PM
HarrierAWD
Lexus Champion

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts