2015 RC F - Stereo Upgrades

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-19, 01:34 PM
OldManRCF
Driver

Received 29 Likes on 26 Posts
Default 2015 RC F - Stereo Upgrades

Hello all,

I'm new to the Lexus world, previously coming from a 2003 Nissan 350z i bought new and i had for 16 years. I outgrew the 350z and decided to step things up with a used 2015 Lexus RC F. (Ultra white, grey interior, 16k miles) I have the standard stereo, the RC F I purchased didn't have the ML package. The stereo sounds great for a stock set up without a doubt, but coming from a fully upgraded system in my old car, it's a downgrade. It seems like upgrading the stereo's on these cars is rare because i'm finding a lack of details on most of what needs to happen. I'm not looking to shake windows coming down the street, but i'd like to add a single sub, preferably utilizing the rear speaker slot above the rear seats. Firstly, do you know what size that speaker is stock? Secondly, i saw a post about someone making custom brackets for the front door speakers, but has anyone done the rear sub yet? I want to try to prevent throwing a bass tube or speaker box in the trunk. In addition, i'm still trying to figure out how people piggy back off the wiring currently in the car verse pulling the dash and starting from scratch with a new head unit. (i'm not willing to switch it) End goal for now is to utilize the stock speaker set up, replacing the rear speaker with an 8-10" sub and replacing amp if stock amp doesn't do the trick. (i have an old school Kicker amp and fairly new subs from my old car) To be honest, i'm not used to the new tech in these cars so if i'm off base or hoping to achieve an unattainable outcome, please help steer me in the right direction.

Thank you all for reading, i am relieved that i was able to find a community for this car similar to what i had with the 350z.

Kind Regards
OldManRCF
Old 02-12-19, 05:37 AM
winglet
Driver School Candidate

Received 20 Likes on 11 Posts