Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Give list of manual transmissions that fit 2JZ

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-18, 09:04 PM
Kodiak303
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Give list of manual transmissions that fit 2JZ

Hello all,
I have a Auto 1992 SC300, can you give an input of a list of all Manuel trannies-pros and cons (price wise/ issues etc.) that will fit the 2JZ engine. Include trannies that require plate adapters (350z tranny etc.)
I’m a bit new to the world of 2JZ so if you can also say the tranny the car comes from as well as the tranny code number if you can.

please give a I lot of details, I want to see all the options.
Much thanks in advance.
Old 02-21-18, 04:11 PM
KahnBB6

Received 1,221 Likes on 856 Posts

^^ This.

A short and incomplete list with the highlights is:

Purpose used for turbo applications:

Getrag-Toyota V160 and V161 6-speed -- extremely stout, extremely expensive, very in demand, parts availability currently in limbo after Getrag discontinued support which has fallen partly to the aftermarket when possible. Requires a 3.133 or 3.266 rear end ratio. Known to handle 1000+ whp. Factory 2JZ transmission.

Aisin-Toyota R154 5-speed -- stout and built for turbo, more stout when built with Marlin Crawler and Driftmotion upgrade parts. Some internal pressure issues above 500whp with all but the very last generations of them. Best with a a 3.76 or 3.92 rear end ratio. Will handle up to 750whp. 3rd gear is a weak point at very high power levels. Best if used at higher power levels with a twin disc or triple disc clutch kit with a movement change. Factory 1JZ/2JZ transmission. Older top-loader extension housing versions and later "tripod" versions exist. Versions are found in the MKIII Supra Turbo 5-speeds as well as Toyota Soarers, Mark II's, Chasers, Crestas, Verossas and a few others.