Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Coolant bubbling in reservoir, not overheating

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-16, 04:23 AM
xt1956
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Coolant bubbling in reservoir, not overheating

The other day I made a 20 mile trip and when I got home, the coolant in the reservoir was bubbling. The car was not overheating... gauge was at normal temp. I decided to change the thermostat and do a coolant flush. I am not a mechanic... have done a few minor maintenance items like changing oil, replace bulbs, replaced a belt once. I watched a YouTube video on changing coolant in a Lexus SC. I got Toyota Red long life coolant, distilled water, new OEM thermostat and a new radiator cap & bought a no-spill funnel kit. Drained the radiator and didn't see any oil in the coolant. I did the flush, and rinsed with distilled water 3 times to make sure I got it good and clean. I replaced the thermostat, added new coolant using the funnel kit. Let the car run with the reservoir cap on and the funnel still in the top of the radiator with the heat turned up. Got it up to temp and let the car run for about 20 minutes until there wasn't a single bubble in the fluid in the funnel and levels in funnel and reservoir were steady. Coolant in the reservoir was between min & max.