Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

AEM v2 startup settings?

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-15, 10:46 AM
INTIMAZY
Instructor

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Unhappy AEM v2 startup settings?

AEM v2 newbie here. Just got around to starting up the new setup. I can't get it to startup nor idle. I tried to search through the AEM forums but after they updated the site many of their old links are not working anymore.

Anyone have a map they could share?

Or any tips to get this thing to idle?

The important mods are 550cc injectors @ 30psi (I can obviously rescale if needed)
272 cams
stock IACV
stock TPS and TB

Can't get this guy to idle

Help!!
Old 06-25-15, 01:05 PM
Ali SC3
Lexus Champion

Received 438 Likes on 368 Posts

does it fire off? there are only a few basic parameters for engine start.
there is the engine start crank angle which you dont usually have to change.
then under engine start there should be a "initial crank pulse" table.
this table controls how much fuel is injected during the starting cycle.
too much fuel and you wash out the spark and flood it, too little fuel and it wont ever fire off.
when you change injectors, this needs to be retuned if having trouble starting it.
there is a wide range that will start the car on this value, but it has to be in that range or you get terrible starts.
this is one function that is very often tuned for cold starts.

so whenever you install larger injector than the basemap had before, you should lower the initial crank pulse to keep the same amount of fuel for starting.
the injector change wizard does not do this automatically.

also make sure there is enough air to start and idle, I am assuming your idle valve was working before?
the parameter for starting is called the IACV "park" value. its usually high to allow lots of air for a start.
normally you don't have to mess with this value but covering for those interested.