Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Help: 1993 SC300 problem, difficulty starting when hot outside, then engine light

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-15, 10:14 PM
zachofragn
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help: 1993 SC300 problem, difficulty starting when hot outside, then engine light

Hello. So I'm hoping I could get some advice on what this sort of thing means before I take this to a repair shop. Hopefully this isn't so terrible for the car that I'll seem like a monster, but I'm a college student that was given this car by his father (was his old car), so keep that in mind in terms of budget.

Basically a while back I cracked its headgasket (radiator tubes ruptured and couldn't safely get off the road in a good enough time). This didn't get diagnosed until way later, and after basically a bunch of con artists, I got a used engine, a new water pump, and a new radiator (It was supposedly a trusted family friend, don't ask). I have no idea if these problems specifically started before or after the repairs, as naturally when you have a cracked head gasket, it'd be very similar to these symptoms.

Specifically my car runs like a dream regularly, such as coming out of a garage, or when it's cool/dark outside. Has a small oil leak (pretty much lasts between oil changes to give you an idea how slow), a slow leak in power steering fluid (probably unrelated, but just listing it), a VERY slow freon leak (like refill it once a year and it's fine), and otherwise is dandy.

However, when it's hot outside, or specifically, the car has been heated up for awhile (as it has to stay outside as I live at an apartment), it has difficulty starting. Just, to use onomatopoeia, it isn't like a dead battery, it does that normal "old car having difficulty starting" noise that's cliche at this point, and then typically on the first try, or at least the second or third, it starts.