Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Your run of the mill newbie,"my car won't frigging start!" inquiry...

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-15, 08:24 AM
darkvice
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Your run of the mill newbie,"my car won't frigging start!" inquiry...

Hello there all you true lexus masters!

I am quite new to the sc300 world. Actually, had I not purchased a 95 sc300 and had a maintenance issue, I would not have found a forum with such dedicated lexians! I live in a land where the four runner rock crawler is king and if you don't speak 22re than good luck with help Pfft.

So...about my my problem. I bought this fine ride with only 185000 miles on it from a buddy. Worked fine for a week. Come to it in the morning after work and I get the infamous click but no crank. So I think it's my starter. Thanks to this awesome forum(this is how I found this site), I learned how to jack up my car and replace the starter.

No dice. Still a click and no crank. So I used the secret ninjitsu technique using the ultra expensive and rare diagnostic tool (paperclip) to read the code. I read code 12. Googling as a newbie should, all I find about code 12 is a way to reset the codes by disconnecting the efi circuit. So I did that.

No dice.

So here I am, a newbie clicker but no cracker looking for help. Two things I have noticed: there is a slight hissing sound when I try to start the car. The temperature gague (the stick) that usually lights up red flickers and dims.

Anyone else have this problem? Any ideas?
Old 04-23-15, 09:04 AM
2GSKaizen
Lead Lap

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts