Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

98 VVTi 1UZ EMS Question

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-14, 02:19 PM
PiXEL
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 98 VVTi 1UZ EMS Question

Im new to the performance side of things with my car, and shops have done most everything up until this point. I feel as if a touch of my very own work is needed to really bring this car to life. I want to start by learning how to reprogram an ecu.
ive briefly browsed around the internet looking for guides to this, but i havent found many that are decent. I fully understand that each brand and each chip will be diferent, but i want to at least learn the basics to it and the terms used by these programs and the tuners.
Once i wrap my head around the basic concepts, I would like to find a chip that can grow as my skills and my engine do. I want to stay away from the chips that have presets as i fel this is against what im going for with the tuning to begin with.

With the above knowledge, my questions are:
What is the best source of information about ECU's and EMS's?
What is a solid chip to get that is good at everything from maximizing the stock engine output to pulling out every pound of boost from an M90 and everything in between.
Thank you in advance to everyone who can help,
Old 02-26-14, 02:44 PM
spdrcr771
Lexus Champion

Received 11 Likes on 8 Posts

Toyota ECU cant be hacked. You can do piggy back's but you said you didn't want preset configurations. You will have to go full stand alone EMS to set everything custom. If you looking to go roots boosted with a M90 there are a couple of options on what EMS to use. You will want to search www.lextreme.com for more V8 info on these 1uz 2uz 3uz engines. I know I didn't answer all your question. But this will help get you goin in the right direction.
Old 02-26-14, 04:12 PM
PiXEL
Driver School Candidate

Originally Posted by spdrcr771