Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Major NA-T dilema. Can't stop now

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-13, 09:47 PM
myLEXsc400
Lexus Test Driver

Received 14 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Major NA-T dilema. Can't stop now

Ok guys, here is the deal. I'm a noob when it comes to car mechanics. I decided to go NA-T, and I have the turbo installed, and the rest of the oil lines and downpipe, and now i really need to figure out what to do to make he car run well. I have a 7psi wastegate, keeping the stock headgasket, and am shooting for about 330-350 whp.

Here is the dilemma, and time is of the very essence, because the car is taking up space in my friend's garage. I was originally planning on running the TT ECU, because my car is a 97 sc300. It is OBDII, and I need the car to pass emissions in Chicago. However, this mod requires a lot of wiring, and a COP conversion, which is even more confusing to me, and then my tach won't work unless I mod that too, and its just a huge headache.

So my question is, should I save myself the headaches and just get a standalone like an AEM V1 or V2 and pay someone to tune it? Or get some sort of piggyback? If so, which one do I need? Are these stand alone's different for ge and gte motors?

I need this to be pretty much plug and play, and least amount of customization. I also want the car to be daily driveable and reliable. I just want this car running finally, so IDK if i should continue with the TT ecu plan, and just find someone and pay them to do it, or should I go a different route?

Kind Regards,
Matt
Old 10-02-13, 10:08 PM
myLEXsc400
Lexus Test Driver

What do you guys think of the AEM F/IC6? what do I need to do to run that?
Old 10-03-13, 05:06 AM
lexforlife
Lexus Fanatic

Received 18 Likes on 16 Posts

aem and never look back , piggyback will never run right , period .. pm me might have aem with v1 with dli avail
Old 10-03-13, 07:41 AM
myLEXsc400