Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

another weird issue please Help my daily

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-12, 10:46 AM
powerjunky
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default another weird issue please Help my daily

need help pulling codes if someone can PM me.

Like i said this is my daily im new to the sc300 ive owned a few 400's in the past but my 1st 2jz
No CEL

will idle just fine then bad miss on at least 2 cylinders and raw fuel smell/smoke from tails.
i have replaced all fuel injectors and did cap/plugs/plug wires and rotor.

will be running just fine then start missing and smoking.....i put in netural and rev it up.

looks like heavy carbon on a couple plugs, i even unbolted exaust after cat to make sure i was getting flow

no water in oil or and antifreeze is perfect and clear.....

what is my next stepi drove it for an hour yesterday no issues.....took to work this morn and missing/died once restarted just fine

Help 1993 sc300 172K not original engine has a 95 in it
Old 10-09-12, 11:27 AM
SC400slide
In Recovery Mode

Received 33 Likes on 27 Posts

In any idling situation with a Lexus, the first 5 thing's I check is 1, see if any vacuum hoses are broken or gone. 2. unplug the MAF and see if it does it without the MAF plugged in. 3. Check spark plugs. 4. See how dirty the IACV is. and 5. last and least, replace the TPS. Just my 2 cents.
(Highly unlikely but you can check the throttle drive cable. if it is at all loose or has any slack tighten it. It is under the plastic cover which is above the throttle body on the front left side of the engine bay.
There are threads on pulling codes so search it up on the internet with "Lexus" at the end. Clublexus is sure to pop up. GL
Old 10-09-12, 12:21 PM
Tabaka
Lexus Champion

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Had these problems too. I cleaned the IACV, replaced the MAF, and finally replaced the ECU