Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Hi, new here, first SC300, have a few quick ?s for everyone

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-09, 03:33 PM
phoenix300
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hi, new here, first SC300, have a few quick ?s for everyone

Hi, names Jon. Im a Honda Mechanic @ a local dealer here in GA. I bought a 95 SC300 (Auto) recently from work and have since done quite a few things to it regarding repairs and tune ups, the car has 255k on it. This is my 5th Toyota (2 MKIII supras, 89 Celica and 94 Celica)

So far I have done:
-Oil Change
-Trans mount
-4 tires & alignment
-New kenwood head unit and all new speakers
-EGR cleaning
-Valve cover gaskets
-plugs and wires
-new rad cap
-12v Fuel pump ECU mod
-Repaired the steering wheel tilt gear

Heres my first concern, and maybe its absolutely nothing but the last car was a 94 Celica and it didnt have this characteristic. After yesterdays repairs (egr, valve cover gaskets, plugs, wires and rad cap) I was driving home and noticed above 70mph, if I let off my gas pedal entirely, the RPMs remained consistant where they were, the car was only slowing down due to drag. It seemed odd to me bc I wasnt noticing this before and my celica dropped to below 1k rpms everytime I let off, to save gas I assume. I rechecked all my vac lines and noticed today that my ACIS actuator vac line was left off, so I plugged it back in and drove home tonight... well its still doing it and Im beginning to feel concerned. IDK if there is anything else I may have moved, unplugged, etc, that may cause this, I dont see how though. I was wondering if anyone had any ideas. I know the car has miles on her, but alot of stuff had been done before I picked it up, and from what I can tell the trans had just been serviced (filter and fluid) Overdrive works, it shifts up and down fine, Im slightly confused on this whole thing really.