Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Overheating

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-06, 08:14 PM
JspecSC3
Lexus Champion

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Overheating

My car is overheating. It looks to me like no coolant is being let through the head. The top hose swells up. The bottom hose feels like there is no coolant running through it and it is also not that hot when I squeeze it. I replaced my fan clutch about a week ago so it cant be that. It steams up from the top neck area where the head is. Does anyone have any ideas on what could be the problem?
Old 06-21-06, 08:21 PM
trent
Advanced

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

How many miles are on your car? I'm no expert, but it could be a number of things ......bad water pump, thermostat went out, clogged radiator.
Old 06-21-06, 08:22 PM
AutoCoutureSC
Lexus Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by JspecSC3
My car is overheating. It looks to me like no coolant is being let through the head. The top hose swells up. The bottom hose feels like there is no coolant running through it and it is also not that hot when I squeeze it. I replaced my fan clutch about a week ago so it cant be that. It steams up from the top neck area where the head is. Does anyone have any ideas on what could be the problem?
I'm guessing thermostat....
Old 06-21-06, 09:30 PM
$C300
Lexus Test Driver

ya it sounds like a thermostat prob.
Old 06-21-06, 09:44 PM
JspecSC3
Lexus Champion

Originally Posted by AutoCoutureSC
I'm guessing thermostat....
I doubt it is the thermostat since there is no water flow coming out of the motor. A cloggled radiator or a bad water pump could be real good possibilities. Ive taken another look under the hood and so far Im leaning more towards a bad water pump.

My car has 250k+ miles on the motor.
Old 06-21-06, 10:08 PM
TMaxxTim
Instructor