Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

New member with question re: JDM 2jz-gte swap

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-06, 10:22 PM
trangk
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New member with question re: JDM 2jz-gte swap

Hi,

Cliff Notes:
When doing the JDM 2jz-gte swap, can you use the JDM harness and JDM ECU in the SC300? Or am I better off using the JDM engine and buying a USDM harness/ECU?

Unabridged:
I'm new to the forum and I'm in the research phase of swapping in a JDM 2jz-gte to an SC300. I've bought Phil's swap manual and have done as much searching as I could on here and on supraforums.com. I can't seem to find any definitive answer for this tho: I am going to purchase a JDM 2jz-gte with auto tranny with the JDM harness/ECU. Will the harness and ECU work in the sc300 or am I better off buying a new USDM harness/ECU? Also, I'm assuming yes but I'm a total newb to this, but if it's a pre '96 engine I will have to use the OBDI ECU?

Thanks for any help you can provide. Hopefully I won't get flamed to death
Old 05-19-06, 10:30 PM
93 LS4
Lead Lap

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I can't answer you question because I'm a 1JZ type of guy, but I just wanted to welcome you to CL.
Old 05-21-06, 09:05 PM
trangk
Driver

thanks for the welcome SC1JZ. maybe i should go that route for my swap

bump. anyone else know the answer?
Old 05-22-06, 03:26 PM
JakAssMtrs

If you use the jdm harness go with the ECU to match. The wiring is a bit complicated as the pins and the coloring of the wiring do not coencide, or match supra usdm. Also there are difference's I understand between jdm supra 2jzgte and aristo 2jzgte wiring. Soundperformance I believe is exstensively familiar w/ wiring a jdm 2jzgte into a sc300. Also are you running an auto tranny? in an already auto car? Auto Ecu for auto tranny.
And if you are not mechanically inclined I wouldn't touch it yourself.
Old 05-22-06, 07:27 PM
Supra Dr