Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

strange missfire, hesitation

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-06, 08:18 PM
Conceptvip
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default strange missfire, hesitation

Ok im a master tech. at Lexus and I was working on my personal 92 sc400 doing a tune up cap, rotor, plugs, wires. I finished and was driving home about 15 miles or so later the car has a large missfire and has a large hesitation. I arived home and pulled all the engine covers off to make sure I didnt damage a wire and that the coil wires were pluged in. All okey. Heres the strange part with the air-flow sensor unplugged the car runs great and with it plugged in, it has a hesitation and misfire. I cannot find any vacume lines unplugged and checked the air box for cracks exc... I have not looked to far into the problem seeing that it is late at night and have to be up at 5, but this is gunna leave me wondering all night what might the problem be lol. ne help would be nice.. thanks
Old 03-22-06, 08:23 PM
LexusFTW
Lexus Test Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

could try cleaning the maf sensor with spray contact cleaner. i suppose its not throwing any codes right?
Old 03-22-06, 08:25 PM
Conceptvip
Driver School Candidate

Already tried that and didnt change any thing..
Old 03-22-06, 08:29 PM
neurocity
Neu`roc´i`ty

Received 73 Likes on 37 Posts

This might sound stupid, but what about cleaning the contacts on the MAF sensor....the "male/female" connectors?
Old 03-22-06, 08:43 PM
Conceptvip
Driver School Candidate

yeah did a pin fit on the MAF and swapped the top coil out with another one i had laying around. the side one is brand new. still running the same... I think im gunna have to pull the cam covers off and check the rotors just to make sure there okey and i didnt hurt them, ill do that tomarrow after work lol
Old 03-22-06, 09:03 PM
O. L. T.
Keeper of the light