NX - 1st Gen (2015-2021)

8AR engine internals look

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-19, 11:42 AM
skyshadow
Lead Lap

Received 47 Likes on 35 Posts
Default 8AR engine internals look

I'm dropping this here instead of the IS200t or RC200t forum because I own a NX and I feel like they don't get enough love. Anyways, I have two 8AR-FTS engine broken down (no I'm not a mechanic) and thought I would share some pics of parts of the engine not usually seen... enjoy FYI, these engines had around 60k on them.

Check out that intricate piston head design. Also you can't see it too well but the throttle body is water cooled.

exhaust port, I imagine the different sizes are because the turbo it twin scroll.

Here's the little baby turbo and down pipe.
Old 01-29-19, 12:37 PM
skyshadow
Lead Lap

Default Part 2

Piston side of the head. Shows the valve sizes, layout and where the DI injects.

Close up of the ports and valves. You can see just how dirty the intake side is. That is a rather large amount of carbon.

Exhaust valve, no too bad for 60k.

This is the scary stuff. Here is a intake valve. Yes, the car has 60k on the engine but that is a lot of carbon. This is enough to convince me to Sea Foam in regular intervals as a maintenance precaution.

A look at the anemic water to air intercooler. This is why I have stated that any tuning on this engine should start here. This intercooler heat soaked on me in one pass at the track.
The following 3 users liked this post by skyshadow:
bob67 (01-30-19), E46CT (02-05-19), Sheddy (02-01-19)
Old 01-29-19, 01:14 PM
ross7777
Lead Lap

Received 61 Likes on 50 Posts

Cool photos thanks for posting. Sure looks dirty for 60k miles but I’ll admit I haven’t taken many engines apart to know if it’s normal....
Old 01-29-19, 02:17 PM
1stwrldprb
Driver

Received 31 Likes on 19 Posts