Fully loaded NX vs. Partially loaded GLC

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-17, 02:19 AM
Confusedd
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fully loaded NX vs. Partially loaded GLC

Hi everyone,

I have had this dilemma for quite a while and thought I would ask on this forum. I have a budget of ~$60k CAD and am looking for a compact SUV, mostly for myself (I'm a professional in mid 20s).
I have test driven both NX and GLC. I prioritize safety and really hope to add all the safety features. I plan to keep the car for 5-6 years.

In terms of NX:
Pros:
- Price: with 2018 coming in, I think I have the leverage to lower the price. I saw that some Canadians were able to get fully loaded F-sport for around $55k out-the-door
- Interior space: It's quite comfortable in the back
- Styling: the F-sport model looks quite sporty and liked the "young" feeling, especially with the red seats.
- "Perceived" reliability: People always suggest that Lexus is reliable... despite the fact that the turbo engine has not been proven in terms of long-term reliability, but it is what it is.
Cons:
- Styling: May go out of date in a while.. especially with the aggressive styling
- Relative lack of power: the engine took a while to really keep going...
- Rear visibility: rear visibility was not so great when I test drove twice.
- Multimedia: navigation system is similar to what my parents' 09 RX had... lol.

In terms of GLC:
Pros:
- Drive: the drive was quite fun. I felt planted and the car cornered very well. It was an engaging ride.
- Styling: the styling is more conservative and likely more timeless
- Safety: lots of standard safety features which are important to me.
- Interior: looks very modern and classy.
Cons: