Maintenance Discuss common Lexus maintenance questions here.

Where is the tilt-steering gear on '01 GS430?

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-14, 10:20 PM
johnnyho
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Where is the tilt-steering gear on '01 GS430?

Hello!

I've been reading all the DIY's, vids etc, on repair of the tilt steering gear.
Got myself together to go do it - lube, washers, instructs...got the lower cover off the column (not easy getting it around the switch on mine)...and non gearbox where I expected!

Anyone else done this on a pre-2006 GS430, or know where they moved the tilt-gear on this model?

That aside now...
I'm brand new to Lexus, and this forum...this is my first post, and first time ever joining any kind of forum - lol. But been reading on here for months, before buying this GS430 a few weeks ago.
Looking forward to being a member, while still learning the ideo-syncracies of my new car.

Thanks so much for your time, and any help!
Old 10-25-14, 01:15 AM
johnnyho
Rookie

Default Answered my own question

Here
https://www.clublexus.com/forums/gs-...pic-wheel.html

I'd been looking at info for LS400 and SC400, thinking they're "400's" and would be same as GS..."not".

Last edited by johnnyho; 10-25-14 at 08:47 AM.
Old 10-25-14, 02:42 AM
dicer
Lead Lap

Received 97 Likes on 89 Posts

What lube and where to get it?
Old 10-25-14, 09:49 AM
johnnyho
Rookie

Well, here is what I know (today) on that:
Lexus steering system manual is "Molybdenum disulfide lithium base grease".
Auto Zone "carries" grease such as Permatex and Liquid Wrench di-electric and lithium greases (http://www.autozone.com/greases-and-...ase/10463_0_0/)
Napa carries TRC Lithium Grease, or their own Napa-branded di-electric.

A lithium-based, or Di-electric (having no electically-conductive properties) has been recommended, I got some di-electric while at Home Depot, when the local Auto Zone had nothing in inventory. But just found Napa has the choices I mentioned above...hmmm.