Maintenance Discuss common Lexus maintenance questions here.

Can I replace the brakes myself?

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-02, 02:33 AM
LexFather

Default Can I replace the brakes myself?

On a 92 ES 300. Seems simple enough. I've done some reading on it. Has anyone here done it themselves? Thanks, I am talking about replacing the rotors and pads.
Old 09-16-02, 09:54 AM
mlevk
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

If you have a manual it should be easy .
Especailly with earlier models , they are
basically simple TOYOTA designs.

HAve you ever done Brakes on any type of car ?

I have a 91 LS , takes about 20 mins each side
once the car is up.
Old 09-17-02, 04:46 PM
LexFather

No I don't have a manual, or I would not have asked the question.

No I have never done brakes before.
Old 09-18-02, 01:27 AM
DevilDog
Lead Lap

Too bad you can't just cruise by my house, I'd do it for ya!

DD
Old 09-18-02, 04:57 AM
kreativ
Advanced

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally posted by DevildogIS300
Too bad you can't just cruise by my house, I'd do it for ya!

DD
Where you at?
Old 09-18-02, 10:00 AM
DevilDog
Lead Lap

Originally posted by kreativ

Where you at?

I'm right here!

I believe your in the Torrance/South Bay area!
Old 09-18-02, 02:46 PM
muldrick
Rookie

"No I don't have a manual, or I would not have asked the question"

"No I have never done brakes before."

If you haven't done brakes before (and don't have a manual) I would highly recommend NOT doing them yourself. I have seen to many "do it youselfers" mess up some serious stuff, and these were guys that "know what they're doing"

Brakes, for obvious reasons, are quite important.
If you're interested in doing things yoursel I would either get trained or at least have a qualified tech show you.
Old 09-18-02, 03:35 PM
Lvangundy

Who's in the torrance/south bay area?

I am.
Old 09-18-02, 06:34 PM
VQT
Lexus Champion

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally posted by 1SICKLEX