LX - 3rd Gen (2008-2021) Posts related to the LX570 belong in this forum

Soft ride in cold start but turns to stiff ride after 10 mins driving!

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-17, 10:06 AM
barathank
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Soft ride in cold start but turns to stiff ride after 10 mins driving!

I am pretty new to LX (2013 with 52k miles) and it is an absolute piece of machine and when I took my buddy in the car and he quoted "It like riding in the Tank!".

My question is: When I start the car is cold start the car rides smooth over the potholes and bumps but soon after 10 minutes of riding I could feel the potholes and bumps more with road noise. My tires are 5/32" and the previous owner replaced just two tires, is this the problem or it has to do with the Adaptive Variable Suspension (AVS). The car have 52K miles and the next service is not due until 55K, I have read the forum and people talking about bleeding the suspension and refill is this something they do in the 60K miles service?

Another question is if I ride in a bad road, the suspension automatically goes up and it comes back down when I stop at the lights. I read the owner manual that the car will be lowered when driving in high speeds unto 0.8 inch in front and 0.6 inch in rear to help with aerodynamics but will this also do this automatically when driving in bumpy roads?

Please share your expertise advise on this.

Last edited by barathank; 11-03-17 at 10:09 AM. Reason: Added more content and context to the question.
Old 11-03-17, 11:25 AM
mcomer
Lead Lap

Received 844 Likes on 638 Posts

One feature that the LX will change on its own while driving is Ride Height.
Is your Lexus heavily loaded which would cause it to raise by stiffening the air
suspension?
Old 11-03-17, 12:31 PM
barathank
Driver School Candidate

Originally Posted by mcomer
One feature that the LX will change on its own while driving is Ride Height.