LX - 3rd Gen (2008-2021) Posts related to the LX570 belong in this forum

Routine Maintenance

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-17, 05:32 PM
lex97h
Rookie

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Routine Maintenance

I am one of those that dread going to the dealership for routine maintenance such as a simple oil change because every time I bring it in, I would get some kind of damage such as scratches, dings and technician loosing a bolt or cross threading it.

I know my ways around cars so I can handle somethings like fluid changes and repairs.

But the question remains is, if I should decide to sell the vehicle in the future would anyone be afraid to purchase it because it has no service history?

To me if the truck is clean even though it has no service history I would be willing to take a gamble on it. Then again I am a mechanic by trade.

What is everyone's thought on this?
Old 10-17-17, 06:44 PM
wasupdu
Driver School Candidate

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Probably in the minority here, but I personally think that dealer service history is completely overrated if you plan to hang onto the vehicle past the warranty end date. I've sold numerous vehicles private party (low and high end) and have done all maintenance myself and I've never had any pushback. Your passion will show when it comes time to sell, not to mention the barrage of synthetic fluids and car care products you probably have around the garage, if you're anything like me. You'll save thousands by doing the fluids and brakes yourself. As you know, these tasks are just about as simple as it gets.
Old 10-17-17, 07:27 PM
lexusrus
Pole Position

Received 250 Likes on 228 Posts

Same here.

I take detailed pictures of EVERYTHING and email them to myself.. Nowadays the smartphones tag the pictures with GPS and time/date. So you can show them later.

Here are examples of pics I took when I changed my oil in my CT200h last time (I can't locate any for my LX570 at the moment).....

Originally Posted by wasupdu