LX - 3rd Gen (2008-2021) Posts related to the LX570 belong in this forum

Stone chip repair

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-16, 07:01 PM
jacal
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Stone chip repair

After a highway ride on the weekend, I came away with a stone chip. It's driver side, just at the edge of the wiper, approx 1/3 from the bottom.

I thought I'd try the quick fix first. I've never tried the stone chip repair before, it's free with my deductible, and I thought what the heck. It seemed like the auto glass shop wanted me to replace the whole windshield, but then I'd have to pay my deductible, and the whole process takes much more time. The chip was fixed in about 45 minutes, and it seems to be a great job. Now you really have to look for it.

We'll see if it holds up, or reflects light or something annoying.

JG
Old 02-22-16, 09:08 PM
hankinid
Pole Position

Received 424 Likes on 360 Posts

Originally Posted by jacal
After a highway ride on the weekend, I came away with a stone chip. It's driver side, just at the edge of the wiper, approx 1/3 from the bottom.

I thought I'd try the quick fix first. I've never tried the stone chip repair before, it's free with my deductible, and I thought what the heck. It seemed like the auto glass shop wanted me to replace the whole windshield, but then I'd have to pay my deductible, and the whole process takes much more time. The chip was fixed in about 45 minutes, and it seems to be a great job. Now you really have to look for it.

We'll see if it holds up, or reflects light or something annoying

JG
I'd give stone chip repair over the years on my cars as 50-50 at best.

Let us know what your insurance guy says when you ask for real Toyota glass if you replace the windshield...that request tends to separate the men from the boys.

Steve
Old 02-22-16, 10:38 PM
SeaHawg
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by hankinid