LX - 1st and 2nd Gen (1996-2007) Post here for topics related to the LX470 or LX450

Purchasing Advice- '99 LX470

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-15, 07:49 PM
jaiello21
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Purchasing Advice- '99 LX470

Hi all,

I am new to the LX450-70 forum but not to clublexus.com. I have owned an '09 GX470 and still own a 1998 ES300. My sons need a car for college up here in the northeast, something roomy, reliable, and good in the snow. Cue the LX470. From what I understand the LX is extremely reliable (as are most Lexus vehicles) so I am not really concerned with that aspect of the LX. However, I want to receive as much advice as possible for things to look for when test driving an older LX. I found a 1999 LX470 with 84,000, 2 owners, extremely clean and well taken care of for $14k. Is this a fair purchase price? I am going to confirm with the dealership as to whether or not the timing belt has been changed, but is there anything else that I should look for? Thanks in advance for any and all help you guys may offer. I am happy to be back here at CL
Old 03-12-15, 04:30 PM
Wandl
Lexus Test Driver

Received 73 Likes on 51 Posts

That is a pretty low mileage vehicle for a 16 year old car. You can enter the VIN to Lexus Owner's site to check out its maintenance history, though as it is under 90k, plan on spending about $1k to do the water pump/timing belt operation.

Suspension, brakes (LX are heavy vehicles) are some of the usual things to look out for with these vehicles...I mentioned in another thread that LX vehicles aren't just readily available (i.e. Toyota sells only 3500 Land Cruisers annually) and I'd assume many dealers know these are rare cars.