LX - 1st and 2nd Gen (1996-2007) Post here for topics related to the LX470 or LX450

Nakamichi 6-CD changer death and Power window problems

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-09, 08:03 PM
djjoby1
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Nakamichi 6-CD changer death and Power window problems

hi everybody!

I have a 2000 LX470 and I really do love it.

I am new to post, but been on the site for sometime and appreciate the good information that is usually found on here.

I am a victim of the dreaded Nakamichi 6-CD changer jam up and subsequant cd player death and hoping for some help.
I got it out, got the cds out, put it back in and it still doesn't work.
it says cds are still in it.
so anyways, I found another cd player from a junkyard across the states from me and got it today. same exact model. factory. from a 2000 even junked at 40k miles (supposedly)
put it in the car and it turned on, radio worked, but cd player still doesn't work.
now, I am wondering if just by chance the replacement i got is also one someone jammed up, or if maybe it has something to do with the car's memory/computer?
i thought about unpluging the battery for a bit and seeing what happened, but I figured changing out the stereo makes it lose power to the stereo anyways, so maybe that's not the issue? and besides, if it was an aftermarket stereo i put in, the same problem obviously couldn't be happening then because the car can't send a msg saying "cd player don't play" can it? it just makes me wonder. i know this is a common problem, so i know it's very possible they sold me a bad stereo just like the one i already have...but i am curious...?

maybe it is another jammed up Nakamichi from hell so now i have 2???
anyone have a take on this or a similar story? anyone ever got the cds out and the cd player worked again?
or how about a story of an aftermarket stereo that fits in easy that you really like that looks nice in the dash.