LS - 5th Gen (2018-present) Discussion topics related to the current flagship models LS500 and LS460 F.

A Mercedes owner's view of the 5LS

Old 08-10-18, 01:52 PM
angrypengu
Driver

Received 19 Likes on 14 Posts
Default A Mercedes owner's view of the 5LS

I have been a Mercedes fan boy all my life, and a few months ago, I finally lost it and started looking elsewhere. The 2018 Audi A8 (is on its way out), the Genesis G90 5.0T and the LS500 were cars I was considering. I am an engineer at heart and while I am not an automotive journalist or expert, I did find a few things worth sharing. The below is a comparison of the LS vs the S class (And in some respect the Genesis G90)

1) Thank you to people on this board who wrote again and again to not judge a LS until one shows up in person.
I hated the 5LS when I first saw photos and was abhorred that Lexus botched the looks of this car. I thought the exterior and interior was absolutely hideous. I went in person today to the Lexus dealership and I left there floored with how much I loved the exterior and the interior.

2) Top on my mind was the efficacy of the massaging seats. The LS > Mercedes by a MILE. Holy crap the Mercedes massage system is pathetic. The Lexus one actually does a damn good job and this is coming from someone with a massive amount of chronic back ache. I was floored.

3) The ML system is amazing, but only if one uses a high fidelity source. FM as an example sounds terrible on the ML, but the opposite is the case for even silly sources like Spotify on Ultra High quality. I was - #BLOWNAWAY.