LS - 4th Gen (2007-2017) Discussion topics related to the current flagship models LS460, LS460L and LS600H

$5000 for upper & Lower Arm Bushings?i

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-18, 07:44 AM
Blindsided
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default $5000 for upper & Lower Arm Bushings?i

I’m in for the power steering to be repaired and my SM reports to me both my upper and lower arm bushings needs to be replaced. 10 hours labor at $150 per. I bought this car a year ago with 130K, hoping it would go 250k without a lot of money. Should I just plan on keeping a box of tampons in the glovebox and expect it to be shoved up my moon when I take it to the sign that says “Lexus?” Any advice would be appreciated as I am new to owning a Lexus and to the Forum. Thanks

Last edited by Blindsided; 04-28-18 at 07:59 AM.
Old 04-28-18, 08:02 AM
UDel
Lexus Fanatic

Received 296 Likes on 223 Posts

STAY AWAY FROM THE DEALERSHIP! Your car is well out of warranty and it sounds like you want to put a lot of miles on it without having to spend much in repairs/maintenance so DIY/Indy is what you want to be doing or at least take it to a Toyota dealership.

You can replace them for less then $1000 if you go aftermarket/DIY or independent mechanic. More people will likely steer you where to go but if you have a RWD you can get aftermarket suspension parts, especially control arms pretty cheap and they are not the hardest things to do yourself from what I have seen. Unfortunately Lexus did not properly design the suspension of this car to last/be durable and dealerships absolutely gouge you for parts/labor.
Old 04-28-18, 08:26 AM
Blindsided
Driver School Candidate

UDel...the SM at Lexus was telling me that all 8 arms needed to be replaced. Would you recommend replacing all 8 arms and were you thinking this could be done for a grand by an independent mechanic? Thanks for your time.
Old 04-28-18, 08:49 AM
Mbbarron
Intermediate

Received 43 Likes on 36 Posts