LS - 4th Gen (2007-2017) Discussion topics related to the current flagship models LS460, LS460L and LS600H

Traditional Engine "Advantage" of LS460 against modern "Twin Turbo" engines?

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-16, 08:47 AM
jasone36
Instructor

Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts
Exclamation Traditional Engine "Advantage" of LS460 against modern "Twin Turbo" engines?

Full disclosure: I am a TOTAL engine noob... my other car is a 15 year old SC430 with a standard V8.

Since I recently got a 2013 LS, which I plan to drive 10 - 15 years (seriously), I wanted the most reliable luxury car I could afford.

It seems many of the competitors (BMW, Merc, Audi) have moved to more modern "Twin Turbo" engines.

Is it safe to say that our "traditional" engine will be more reliable over the long-haul than these modern whiz-bang "turbo" and "supercharged" engines?

Please take it easy on me, I'm totally clueless when it comes to modern engine technologies.

Thank you
Old 03-31-16, 08:56 AM
tbilisi79
Instructor

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts

Google the problems that twin turbo 750 BMW car have.
Naturally aspirated motor will alway outlast a turbo motor given the same care.
MB and BMW don't buom cars to last. If they did they would be done on sales. Most of their cars are made for lease programs, then they make some more money on people who buy them after that, God knows who those people are. So it's a win win for them.

As for true car enthusiast on a budget, it's up to them to do their research and find out how much crap they are willing to deal with.
I chose a Ls for its reliability. Sure I wanted a s550 or a 750li and I could've had it. But there is no way I am wasting time or money on a car that is not worth it because the company that made them didn't think it's important to last for longer than a few years without major repairs.
I feel like I've said this before.
Old 03-31-16, 10:08 AM
jasone36
Instructor