LS - 4th Gen (2007-2017) Discussion topics related to the current flagship models LS460, LS460L and LS600H

08 ls460 needs new control arms

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-14, 12:57 PM
Carnut
Pole Position

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Originally Posted by roadfrog
LOL. Yep......and you can get them on Ebay for under a hundred bucks. Lots of gnashing of teeth and hair pulling about the LS control arms and how expensive it is, etc. I dont get it.

If it ever comes time to repair mine, I will buy the bushings online, rent a press, buy a six pack o' beer and go to it.....maybe 3 hours of my time.
In my particular case, I am not a mechanic, don't want to start now. I prefer a Lexus trained Technician work on my car and keep it ALL Lexus as long as I own it. I'd rather let the mechanic do it and drink my six-pack at home while driving their loaner car.
Old 08-07-14, 02:01 PM
Devh
Racer

Received 43 Likes on 42 Posts

Originally Posted by Carnut
In my particular case, I am not a mechanic, don't want to start now. I prefer a Lexus trained Technician work on my car and keep it ALL Lexus as long as I own it. I'd rather let the mechanic do it and drink my six-pack at home while driving their loaner car.
I agree with you although I too would do the work myself as I have the tools and experience so it's not that hard for me. From looking at EBay you can spend a little more and get replacement control arms that already have the bushings pressed in which makes it even easier.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/4-FRONT-UPPER-CONTROL-ARM-LEXUS-LS460-LS600H-07-12-/261216442091?pt=Motors_Car_Truck_Parts_Accessories&fits=Make%3ALexus%7CModel%3ALS460&hash=item3cd1b696eb&vxp=mtr
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Lexus-LS460-LS460-2-Premium-Front-Lower-Control-Arms-07-12-/161319219525?pt=Motors_Car_Truck_Parts_Accessories&fits=Make%3ALexus%7CModel%3ALS460&hash=item258f5ff145&vxp=mtr