LS - 3rd Gen (2001-2006) Discussion topics related to the flagship Lexus LS430

Trans fluid flush on an '05?

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-17, 12:59 PM
caverman
Instructor

Received 181 Likes on 113 Posts
Default Trans fluid flush on an '05?

My '05 LS430 has just under 114k on it and as far as I can tell there are no transmission issues. I'm just looking to do preventative maintenance. I've read about doing a trans fluid drain/refill and normally I am a DIYer on just about everything but this is one where I think I'm not.

When I had my '04 I had an indie do a D/F without issue but that indie is a 40 min drive one way and only open M/F 8 - 5 which makes it extremely hard to get my car to them to work on.

So, I found what looks to be another reputable indie but I've never used them before. When I talked to them this afternoon, they recommend doing a flush and not just a D/F. They looked to be good, are family owned, and have expanded to 3 locations so it's not just a fly by night operation. In addition they are only 15 min from my work which makes it easier to use them. However, from all the reading I've done I'm a little leery of doing a flush instead of the D/F method. I'm sure they've worked on these transmissions many times before and you would think that if there were any issues they would have changed their procedures.

As a general rule I like the idea of the flush and replacement of most of the fluid.

https://davenportmotorco.com/services/
Look at the video the under services tab.

Opinions?
Old 06-12-17, 02:09 PM
JffGRY706
Instructor

Received 56 Likes on 53 Posts