LS - 3rd Gen (2001-2006) Discussion topics related to the flagship Lexus LS430

joined the timing belt club at ~ 87k

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-17, 06:03 PM
Johnhav430
Lexus Fanatic

Received 372 Likes on 346 Posts
Default joined the timing belt club at ~ 87k

Now I'm no expert, but all the old parts looked virtually brand new: timing belt, water pump, tensioner, two idlers, and serpentine belt. As a layman, no signs of wear whatsoever in 11 yrs./87k. Maybe the 90k change is as mythical as unicorns

Name:  20170203_202836-1_zpsr0ryizt9.jpg
Views: 680
Size:  645.9 KB
Name:  20170203_202804-1_zpsp0widqrk.jpg
Views: 689
Size:  655.9 KB

Last edited by DaveGS4; 02-06-17 at 08:04 AM. Reason: politics OT
Old 02-03-17, 06:22 PM
Scootymad
Pole Position

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

Can't beat peace of mind though, knowing you have fresh new timing gear in there that's good for another 75,000 miles
Old 02-03-17, 08:32 PM
ejthomp
Pit Crew

Received 18 Likes on 8 Posts

I waited to do my 2005 until 102,000 miles. All looked super EXCEPT my waterpump had just started to weep.

Be glad you did it.
Old 02-04-17, 10:55 AM
tallcaguy
Instructor

Received 55 Likes on 54 Posts

The 90k is a conservative recommendation based on LS use anywhere. CA highway miles and weather are pretty easy on a car. When I was looking for an LS, asked one owner if the TB had been replaced. She said she hadn't bothered to do it (car had 125). A buyer came to look at my 01. Told her the TB had been done at 90. She looked surprised. Told me she'd never had the belt done on her 400 (car had 198). Looks like it's possible to go farther but I agree about piece of mind.

Ugly question but what does an interference engine do if the TB breaks? It probably wouldn't be at idle. On the road, broken engine sounds, RPM's suddenly drop, car skids to a stop and it's new engine time?
Old 02-04-17, 11:43 AM
Johnhav430
Lexus Fanatic