Advice requested: purchasing a LS430

Search this Thread

Old 11-02-11, 04:17 AM
Sattvik
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice requested: purchasing a LS430

Hello,

I just started looking into purchasing an LS430. It seems like a comfortable and reliable car.

After finding a few cars on-line and finding they have all been sold, one of the local (Houston) Lexus dealers showed me a car that just got traded in. It's a black 2005 LS430 with the navigation system and about 33K miles. I had a chance to look at it before it got detailed and fixed up, and it's in overall good condition. I have a copy of the maintenance records from the dealer, and it seems the previous owner did a good job of taking it in for the regular maintenance.

The dealer wants to CPO it and sell it for $33K. Even with the CPO, it seems a little high to me. However, I am fairly new to the market and really don't know what's a good price. Do any of you have any advice on whether it's a good price or if I should just wait for a better deal to show up?

Thank you!
Old 11-02-11, 05:06 AM
Jabberwock

Received 203 Likes on 166 Posts

Finding an LS with very low miles is still possible but becoming more difficult. Based on looking at asking prices (check auto trader.com) across the US, I think a realistic asking price for a low mile CPO 2005 LS430 in near mint cond with Nav would be 28-29k. A similar mint 06 model might go as high 29-33k asking price. What they actually sell it for depends on local demand and the quality of the car. There are also lots of well maintained but more worn, high mile LS430s still avail so those will sell for up to $4-8k less. I find it encouraging that these asking prices haven't dropped much in the last 2 years for the low mile cars.
Old 11-02-11, 05:39 AM
tkbalt
Driver