LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

New Member- Transmission "slipping" on WOT

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-19, 12:32 PM
Richeaus
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default New Member- Transmission "slipping" on WOT

Hello members! I am new to the this forum but members on other car forums as well. I am at a bit of a loss. I have had my 1993 LS400 for about 8 months. I bought it in Indiana, where I am from, as a wholesale car from a dealer. I bought it with some minor issues but in overall amazing shape. The car is from Florida so there is no rust on the car, (absolutely amazing find for Indiana). The previous owners took very good care of it and I bought it with 125,000 miles. It now has 131,000. Not bad for a 25 year old car at the time. I had to do some tune-up items on the car including plugs and wires and various other small things. The only thing that I am still trying to sort out is an issue when I go WOT to merge on highways or have fun. I love in Texas now so I need to go much faster, much quicker than I am used to! The symptoms are odd and I am a trained Automotive Technician and still am stumped on the issue. From a dead stop, the car is pretty quick and the transmission hooks up. It seems to be once I am moving and passed 40-50mph when I push the gas pedal all the way down or all the way down plus the little detent, the transmission shifts down ,RPMs increase but very little speed increase is achieved. It's like the transmission goes into neutral when floored.