LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Lexus LS400 Wont move

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-18, 06:57 PM
AkeemH
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default NEED HELP Lexus LS400 Wont move

Hello,

It been a good and bad few weeks for me. If any of you remember I had the thread about the swap from 1993 to 1990 LS400 Engine's and harnesses. I've successfully finished and everything works accordingly. I've never done this work before I reached out for help got a couple responses, and I got it done with the help of some equipment. I did the swap, so now I'm running into a issue with my differential, or around that area( I suspect).

Video:

Thank you, for any help you all can be !

Last edited by AkeemH; 05-13-18 at 09:28 AM.
Old 05-12-18, 09:05 PM
lexsmooth
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

drain the diff oil and see if theres metal particle.
Old 05-13-18, 01:06 AM
CELSI0R
Racer

Received 282 Likes on 219 Posts

Yikes! Sounds like there's metal contact going on. I would inspect the Differential fluid too, as lexsmooth said.

I can't tell from your video, but is the driveshaft moving from the transmission to the rear differential? If that's moving, but the wheels aren't spinning, then it could be something with the differential or rear axles.

Some important questions to help us understand:

Would the car move and drive before the engine swap?

Did you change the driveshaft, rear differential, or rear axles?

Did you change the transmission or mount the old one to the new engine?

Does the transmission engage when you change gears?
Old 05-13-18, 06:15 AM
AkeemH
Driver School Candidate

Originally Posted by CELSI0R
Yikes! Sounds like there's metal contact going on. I would inspect the Differential fluid too, as lexsmooth said.