LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Buying an LS400: Common Problems to Look For?

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-18, 09:02 PM
TrapMaster
Driver School Candidate

Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Buying an LS400: Common Problems to Look For?

A coworker is selling a 94 or 95 (don't remember the exact year) LS400 with around 240k on it. I'm from the Nissan realm and while I've worked on plenty of Toyota's, I have no experience with the LS. I'm paying $800 bucks for the car but I'd like some insight on things I should check for before I hand over money. Basically I'm looking for advice on common rust areas, engine issues, transmission issues, etc. I plan on this becoming my daily driver so reliability is somewhat important. I'm pretty capable mechanically so the main things I'm trying to look out for are structural integrity problems and signs of imminent failure mechanically. Anyway, I appreciate any help and I'm really looking forward to getting an LS.
Old 03-04-18, 09:32 PM
lextout
Racer

Received 47 Likes on 45 Posts

power steering pump, t belt water pump, getting it up in the air will give u an idea.
The following users liked this post:
TrapMaster (03-05-18)
Old 03-04-18, 09:50 PM
TrapMaster
Driver School Candidate

Originally Posted by lextout
power steering pump, t belt water pump, getting it up in the air will give u an idea.
I should be able to get it up on a lift at school. Current owner mentioned that the radiator is new but the car has overheated again recently. I checked on water pump pricing, seems reasonable enough. How much of a pain is the water pump to replace? I'll most likely do a compression test just to be sure there hasn't been HG damage.
Old 03-05-18, 08:03 AM
Superfast1
Advanced

Received 111 Likes on 77 Posts