LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Newbie Here- 97 purchase thoughts?

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-17, 04:19 AM
WVUGuy29
Driver School Candidate

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Newbie Here- 97 purchase thoughts?

Hi people. Newbie here. Just joined like 5 minutes ago. I was hoping some of you could help me out though. I'm coming into some inheritance money (not a lot but enough) and was wondering if you could give me some advice on a 97 model LS400. I had the chance to purchase a 92 LS400 about 3 years ago now and didn't because someone told me it would've cost more than it was worth (the problem was the timing belt; I'm not very car-savvy but I know some things and a timing belt isn't one of them) so I decided not to purchase it. That being said, I recently came across a 97 model on Craigslist (I know, I know: beware. I texted the guy or girl and they seem nice but I know to still be wary). I'll provide a link in a moment to that. My question, finally, is this: is this model worth the price? Could I talk the seller down by a bit? This will be my first car purchase in over 10 years so any and all advice you have for me would be super appreciated. You'll see all specs and interior/exterior shots in the link. I hope it's worth it. I so want it as I'm planning on taking some of my inheritance money and buying this car (I hope) to drive to Florida since that's where I'm gonna move to shortly. Again, any advice is helpful as I've never been a Lexus owner (I hope this isn't like some Eyes Wide shut sheet where if I don't own a Lexus I can't even be here... )

https://tricities.craigslist.org/cto/6031325306.html

Last edited by RA40; 03-17-17 at 12:22 PM. Reason: title adjustment
The following users liked this post:
armadill0 (03-18-17)
Old 03-17-17, 01:07 PM
deanshark
Pole Position

Received 312 Likes on 269 Posts