LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Lurked for a while, picked up this beauty last week.

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-16, 08:33 PM
sparkstack
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lurked for a while, picked up this beauty last week.

Hello All. First post here. Picked up a white 96 LS400 from Colorado last week. has 178K miles on it now. Interior is really clean, and the exterior is also in very good shape, aside from someone keying the passenger rear door and side of trunk. I need to find someone to repair this. Any pointers would be appreciated.

The Lexus is to replace my Audi S6. My wife pretty much stole that from me when her lease was up on the SUV she had, so i've been driving around in my '90 Miata for the last 18 months, and desperately needed something with more seats. My wife has since decided she really likes the Lexus now - so we will see how long i get to keep the keys for.

Drove the 1000 miles home without any issues, other than a known vibration around 1800-2500 rpm. I say known, as it was listed as an issue on the inspection i had done before i flew out to buy the car.

Because i'd been lurking around here for a while i figured i knew what was causing the vibration, and so i ordered a genuine transmission mount from a Toyota dealer on eBay, and fitted it today. When i removed the old, this is what i found:

Replacing it has made a world of difference. So much so that I'm contemplating replacing the engine mounts now as well. That seems to be a bit more of a pain in the *** to do though.

While i was under the car i took a few more images. It's seems really clean under here considering it's age.

It does seem to have a slight oil leak on the engine pan, and i also noticed there appears to be a grommet missing from one of the O2 sensors:

Other than those items, mechanically it's sound underneath.