LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

1995 LS400 Timing Belt and Water Pump "how to"

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-15, 03:07 PM
chadseeg
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1995 LS400 Timing Belt and Water Pump "how to"

Hello all,
I am new to LS400 forum and I am in a difficult spot with my main transportation needing repair so looking for the best advise I can get. My 1995 LS400 fan clutch bracket bearing has gone bad. After I figured out this is the trouble, I went to replace it and can see the TB has a lot of
cracking. There is about 80k on this TB, according to the sticker on the radiator. Friends are strongly suggesting that I need to change everything (TB, WP, Fan Bracket, Cam and crank seals, etc.) while I am doing this work. So, I have all the parts, I think, and have been reviewing the forum posts. Here are my questions;

1) Is my 1995 LS400 a Gen2 (If not Gen1 then is it called a Gen2?) and I only find this Gen1 "how to" on Club Lexus
http://www.lexls.com/tutorials/engine/timingbelt.html

2) Do I align the timing marks (crank at O and both distributors to their motor marks) before tear down? And is the idea not to move all pulleys from their alignment marks or is this for the crankshaft? I ask this because I have never done this work and don't know if remounting the new belt requires movement. I read somewhere about the crank mark being moved to about 50% from 12 o'clock.

3) what sealant is used for the water pump, permatex for water pump (P/N 22071)?

4) Maybe a dumb question but, does the hydraulic tensioner (Aisin kit TKT-030) come pre-adjusted?

This non-club lexus url seemed helpful but not sure if it is the best "how to" on Gen2 if that is what my 1995 LS400 is. http://www.lextreme.com/timing.htm

Any suggestion would be greatly appreciated as I must start tomorrow.

Thanks,
Chad

Last edited by chadseeg; 04-24-15 at 04:30 PM. Reason: clean up
Old 04-24-15, 04:31 PM